CLERMONT FIRE COMMISSIONERS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING JANUARY 16, 2017

The Commissioners of the Clermont Fire District held their organizational meeting on Monday, January 16, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. at the Town Hall. Those present were Commissioner Raymond Bauer, Commissioner Ronald Rifenburgh, Commissioner Susan Rifenburgh, Commissioner Laurence Saulpaugh and Commissioner Ronald Miller. Also present were Treasurer Denise Fiore, Chief Fred Gooderham, Lloyd Kukon, Christopher Ogden, Colin Brown, Ryan Brown, Evan Decker, Robert Desmond and Secretary Mary Helen Shannon.

The meeting was called to order by Treasurer Denise Fiore, followed by a salute to the flag.

Resolution #1-17 – Appointment of Chairman.

The Treasurer asked for a motion to nominate the Chairman. Commissioner Saulpaugh nominated Susan Rifenburgh as Chairman. Nomination seconded by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh. There were no further nominations. A motion was made by Commissioner Ronald Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Bauer to close the nominations. All in favor. So carried. The Treasurer casts one ballot for Chairwoman Susan Rifenburgh

Resolution #2-17 - Appointment of Deputy Chairman Commissioner R. Rifenburgh made a motion nominating Laurence Saulpaugh as Deputy Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. There were no further nominations. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #3-17 - Appointment of Secretary

Commissioner Saulpaugh made a motion to nominate Mary Helen Shannon for Secretary, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #4-17 - Appointment of Treasurer Commissioner R. Rifenburgh made a motion to nominate Denise Fiore for Treasurer, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #5-17 - Official newspaper Motion made by Commissioner Saulpaugh to retain the Register Star, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So Carried.

Resolution #6-17 - Official Bank

Motion made by Commissioner Bauer to retain the Bank of Greene County, seconded by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #7-17 - Location, Date and Time of Commissioner's regular monthly meeting.

Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh to hold the meetings on the third Monday of the month at 7:00 PM at the Town Hall, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #8-17 - Authorizing Prepayment of bills.

Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh that utilities, such as Fuel Oil, Electric, Phone and Rent, can be paid prior to authorization from the Commissioners, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #9-17 - Appointment of Attorney

Commissioner Bauer made a motion to appoint Andrew Howard of Freeman-Howard PC, seconded by Commissioner Saulpaugh. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #10-17 - Appointment of Accountant Commissioner Bauer made a motion to appoint Mark Fitzgerald as Accountant, seconded by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #11-17 - Appointment of Committees

Buildings and Grounds – Commissioner Saulpaugh, Commissioner Bauer Insurance – Commissioner Ronald Rifenburgh, Commissioner Ronald Miller Laws and Policies – All Commissioners Fire Equipment – Commissioner Bauer, Commissioner Saulpaugh Legal – All Commissioners LOSAP – All Commissioners

Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh to accept the committees, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #12 –17 – Appointment of LOSAP Audit Accountant Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh to appoint Brian Fitzgerald, CPA to perform the LOSAP Audit, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So carried.

Resolution #13-17 – Authorizing the Chief to spend up to \$200.00 without authorization from the Board of Commissioners.

Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Saulpaugh. All in favor. So carried

A review of the Policies of the Clermont Fire District were made with no suggested changes. A motion was made to accept the policies as they are by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So carried.

The Officers of the Clermont Fire Company for 2017 are as follows and were approved on the following motions.

 Chief Fred Gooderham – Motion made by Commissioner Saulpaugh, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.

- First Assistant Chief Lloyd Kukon Motion made by Commissioner Saulpaugh, seconded by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh. All in favor. So carried.
- Second Assistant Chief Evan Decker Motion made by Commissioner Saulpaugh, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.
- Captain Colin Brown Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Saulpaugh. All in favor. So carried.
- First Lt. Ryan Brown Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Saulpaugh. All in favor. So carried.
- Second Lt. Christopher Ogden Motion made by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Miller. All in favor. So carried.

Commissioner R. Rifenburgh asked if all the above understand their duties and responsibilities in these positions. He has seen improvements already in the condition of the stations and trucks and hopes that it continues.

A motion was made to adjourn at 7:40 P.M. by Commissioner R. Rifenburgh, seconded by Commissioner Bauer. All in favor. So carried.

The regular meeting of the Clermont Fire Commissioners follows the organizational meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Helen Shannon Fire District Secretary